Yummy Stuffed Squash

eatgreen_colorDisclaimer: I avoid stuffing things. It sounds like too much work. But this stuffed squash is easy to stuff (and love).

I had six acorn squash left from my fall CSA box so I found this recipe from a long ago co-op newsletter. I’ve modified it slightly. Reviews from our house include “Oscar loves!” and “Wow, that stuffed squash is amazing!!”

Yummy Stuffed Squash – 4 servings

2 whole acorn squash

½ C wild rice

olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

½ C onion, chopped

1 C fresh mushrooms, chopped

2/3 C walnuts, chopped

1-2 medium roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped

¼ t rosemary

1 t basil

½ t salt

½ t pepper

½ C vegan cheez, shredded

Cut squash is half (around the “equator”) and remove seeds. I use a serrated grapefruit spoon. Put squash cut side down on an oiled baking sheet that has ½” water in it. Bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes, until tender.

Rinse wild rice under running water, then cook in 2 cups water until tender, about 45 minutes. Some should be chewy, some should have burst open. Drain any remaining water from the rice.

Sauté onion, garlic, mushrooms and walnuts in lightly oiled skillet until mushrooms and onions are soft, about 3 minutes. Add cooked wild rice, chopped tomato.

Scoop the cooked squash from the shells, leaving a 1/3” thick bowl. Add this cooked squash to the rice mixture in the pan. Add rosemary, basil, salt, pepper and vegan cheez. I used Daiya cheddar. Blend well and cook for another 3 minutes.

Spoon wild rice mixture into squash shells. Bake stuffed squash in original pan with ½” water for about 15 minutes, until well heated through.

I like to prep as much as possible either the night before we will eat this (or in the morning before work). Then I cooked the squash halves when I got home. You could certainly cook the squash in the morning to save more time.

Yummy!

IMG_4554

Leave a comment